The Division of Cytopathology

What's New?

2017 USCAP annual meeting
~ posted June 2017

Dr. Rosenthal receives Lifetime achievement award at 2017 USCAP annual meeting
Dr. Dorothy Rosenthal receives Lifetime achievement award. Congratulations!!!

2017 USCAP, San Antonio
~ posted June 2017

Dr. Lilo
Dr. Mohammed Lilo (Former Cytopathology Fellow)

2017 Departmental Award Dinner
~ posted June 2017

Hang, Maleki, Zhou
Drs. Jen-Fan Hang (Former Cytopathology Fellow), Zahra Maleki (Faculty), and Amy Zhou (Former Cytopathology Fellow)

2016 Chicago Marathon
~ posted June 2017

Dr. Jen-Fan Hang
Dr. Jen-Fan Hang (Former Cytopathology Fellow)

2016 ASC Reception, New Orleans
~ posted June 2017

Deluca, Ali, Erozan, Lilo
Juliana Deluca (Cytotechnologist), Dr. Syed Ali, Brenda Erozan, Dr. Yener Erozan, and Dr. Mohammed Lilo (Former Cytopathology Fellow)

Ali, Zhou, Lilo
Drs. Syed Ali (Cytopathology Division Director), Amy Zhou and Mohammed Lilo (Former Cytopathology Fellows)

News Archives +

Dr. Ali Nominated Founding Editor-in-Chief of JASC
~ May 2012

Dr. Ali was recently nominated as the founding Editor-in-Chief of the forthcoming "Journal of the American Society of Cytopathology" or JASC. A special adhoc committee appointed by the society's president unanimously proposed his name for this position. His appointment was made official when the executive board of the society approved his nomination by voting at the recent annual scientific meeting.

American Society of Cytopathology (ASC) is the oldest and largest professional organization of cytopathologists and cytotechnologists in the world with over 3000 members. ASC is celebrating its 60th anniversary at the November 2013 annual meeting in Las Vegas. ASC have had two affiliate journals in the past; Acta Cytologica and Cancer Cytopathology. However, recently the society has been working to have its own official journal.

Dr. Ali has always been active in the ASC since becoming a junior member in 1992. He has served on a number of key positions in the society including chairmanship of both, the "educational development committee" and the "scientific program committee", as well as serving on the executive board of the ASC.

The journal will be published by Elsevier in New York and the first issue is scheduled forJanuary 2014. Currently, Dr. Ali is putting together an editorial advisory board. He plans to have the journal's editorial office located at Hopkins, managed by an editorial manager.

Dr. Syed Z. Ali appointed Director of Cytopathology
~ March 2011

Dr. Syed Z. Ali has recently been appointed Director of the John K. Frost Cytopathology Laboratory at the Johns Hopkins Hospital. Dr. Ali succeeds Dr. Douglas Clark, Dr. Yener Erozan, and Dr. John K. Frost as the fifth director of the laboratory. Dr. Ali has a rich background using inovative teaching tools in Cytopathology education. He has a strong interest in pancreatic and thyroid cytopathology and looks forward to building upon the strong diagnostic foundation at Hopkins to provide cutting-edge patient care, teaching and research in cytopathology.