FIFTH JOHNS HOPKINS AUTOIMMUNITY DAY

Friday, June 06, 2003

Becton Dickinson Lecture Hall Bloomberg School of Public Health Room W1020

Sponsored by

Johns Hopkins Autoimmune Disease Research Center

and

PAHO/World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Autoimmune Diseases

Morning Session

Stanely M. Finger, Chair

8:00 Continental Breakfast in the Bloomberg Courtyard

9:00 George Eisenbarth

Insulin as a primary autoantigen for Type 1 Diabetes

10:00 Patrizio Caturegli

Autoimmune Hypophysitis: An emerging reality

10:30 Milagros Picota Samaniego

Antibody responses to Polymorphic HSPs: Do they play a role in transplant rejection?

11:00 Break

11:15 Ellen Silbergeld

Mercury and Autoimmunity: New findings from the lower end of the dose- response curve

11:45 Kanneboyins Nagaraju

Sex differences in immune response genes

12:15 Lunch on your own

Afternoon Session

Kamal Moudgil, Chair

1:30 Martin Weigert

The role of receptor editing in autoimmunity and free light chain production

2:30 Stephen Desiderio

Regulatory mechanisms in the diversification of antibody genes

3:00 David W. Scott

B-Cell delivered gene therapy for autoimmune diseases

3:30 Abdel Hamad

How defects in the Fas pathway prevent T-cell mediated autoimmun disease

4:30 Reception in the Bloomberg Courtyard

Johns Hopkins Autoimmune Disease Research Center

Noel R. Rose, Director C. Lynne Burek, Associate Director Patrizio Caturegli, Associate Director

Scientific Advisory Board

Grant Anhalt
Leon Gordis
Diane E. Griffin
Neal Halsey
Allan Hess
Douglas Jabs
J. Brooks Jackson
Thomas Kickler
Antony Rosen
Arthur Silverstein
Jerry Winkelstein

National Advisory Board

Dorothea Becker
Vivian Berry
Kathy Belitsos
Frederick T. DeKuyper
Linda Feinstone
Stanley Finger
Joseph Harun
Peter Havens
Linda Otto
Deborah Rose
Donald Tourville
Carol Jean Young

We are grateful for support from the American Autoimmune-Related Disease Association and Ms. Linda Otto.