## **About the Yener S. Erozan Fellowship in Cytopathology**

The Yener S. Erozan Fellowship in Cytopathology was established in 2000, to honor Yener S. Erozan, M.D., Director of Emeritus of the Cytopathology Institute at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and a past president of the American Society of Cytopathology.

From early childhood, Dr. Erozan wanted to be a doctor and never considered another profession. After graduating from the University of Istanbul School of Medicine in 1954, Dr. Erozan completed residency programs at Haydarpasa Numune Hospital in Istanbul (1956-1959) and at Suburban Hospital in Bethesda, Maryland (1959-1962). He became a fellow in Cytopathology when he came to the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in July 1962.

In July 1964, Dr. Erozan joined the Pathology faculty as an instructor before returning to Turkey the following year to serve as an instructor of Pathology at Hacettepe University School of Medicine where he stayed until 1968. Dr. Erozan returned to Johns Hopkins in December 1968 to become an Assistant Professor in Pathology and resume his remarkable career. In July 1975, he was promoted to Associate Professor, and in January 1989, he assumed the Directorship of the John K. Frost Cytopathology Laboratory, named in honor of the first director of cytopathology at Johns Hopkins under whom Dr. Erozan completed his fellowship. In May 1995, he was promoted to Professor of Pathology.

During a distinguished career that has spanned more than 50 years, Dr. Erozan's love of teaching is embodied in his prolific publications. He generated more than 90 peer-reviewed articles, 13 non-peer reviewed articles, 14 book chapters, two books and a variety of multi-media teaching materials. Until his retirement in 2007, Dr. Erozan was involved in national and international continuing medical education instructional activities, including the world-renown Postgraduate Institute for Pathologists in Clinical Cytopathology established by Dr. Frost.

In addition to his significant contributions as an educator, Dr. Erozan has embraced clinical and research technologies that have significantly impacted the practice of cytopathology. He has been a leader in the area of fine needle aspiration, one of the major new areas in cytopathology in the last 25 years, and his research interest in pulmonary pathology has involved the application of molecular probes to cytologic specimens. Dr. Erozan's papers have been published in significant journals of our specialty and he has been an Associate Editor for Acta Cytologica since 1992.

Dr. Erozan has been an active member of the American Society of Cytopathology since 1977. Over the years, he has served the Society in multiple capacities including President. His commitment to the Society has been demonstrated through his membership or chairmanship of many of the Society's committees. In 1997, Dr. Erozan received the Society's highest honor—the Papanicolaou Award—in recognition of his meritorious contributions in the field of cytopathology.

## Dr. Yener Erozan and Fellowship Donors Honored

In August 2017, the Division of Cytopathology unveiled a special plaque recognizing donors who have made leadership contributions of \$5,000 or more in support of the *Yener S. Erozan Fellowship in Cytopathology* Fund. Since 2000, more than 170 donors have contributed \$843,000 to build this important endowment which helps to train future generations of cytopathologists by supporting a post-

doctoral clinical/research fellow. Honored during the celebration were Tehmina and Syed Ali, Carolyn and John Boitnott, Brenda and Yener Erozan, Ann and Leonard Greif Jr., Claire and Ralph Hruban, James Orr, and Sheila and Lawrence Pakula. On hand to help thank these generous donors were three of the seven Erozan fellows—J. Judd Fite, M.D. (2017-2018), Amy Zhou, M.D. (2016-2017), and Ramneesh Bhatnagar Virk, M.D. (2013-2014). The occasion also marked the 55th anniversary of Dr. Erozan's arrival at Johns Hopkins as a fellow in the Department of Pathology in 1962. He served as Director of the Division of Cytopathology from 1989-1995. Dr. Erozan retired in 2007 and continues to be active in the Division.



If you would like to help build this important permanent endowment, please <u>click here</u> to make your tax-deductible contribution. Should you wish to make a larger philanthropic commitment, a multi-year pledge may be paid over a five year period. Donors contributing \$5,000 or more will have their name recognized on the plaque displayed in the Division of Cytopathology. For additional information or to make a multi-year pledge, please contact our development office at 443-287-7947 or *FJHMDeptPrograms@jhmi.edu*.

## Previous Yener S. Erozan Fellows

2003-2005	Peter Kulesza, M.D.
2012-2013	Adam Toll, M.D.
2013-2014	Ramneesh (Remi) Bhatnagar Virk, M.D.
2014-2015	Jennifer Hipp, M.D.
2015-2016	Jennifer Collins, D.O., M.P.H.
2016-2017	Amy Zhou, M.D.
2017-2018	J. Judd Fite, M.B.A, M.D.